View your shopping cart.
Available for Special Order

Banner Message

Please note that online availability does not reflect stock in store!

Please contact us via email or phone for immediate stock information.

Waiting for Columbus

Waiting for Columbus
$26.00
A man arrives at an insane asylum in contemporary Spain claiming to be the legendary navigator Christopher Columbus. Who he really is, and the events that led him to break with reality, lie at the center of this captivating, romantic, and stunningly written novel.
Found in the treacherous Strait of Gibraltar, the mysterious man who calls himself Columbus appears to be just another delirious mental patient, until he begins to tell the "true" story of how he famously obtained three ships from Spanish royalty.
It's Nurse Consuela who listens to these fantastical tales of adventure and romance, and tries desperately to make sense of why this seemingly intelligent man has been locked up, and why no one has come to visit. As splintered fragments of the man beneath the facade reveal a charming yet guarded individual, Nurse Consuela can't avoid the inappropriate longings she begins to feel. Something terrible caused his break with reality and she can only listen and wait as Columbus spins his tale to the very end.
In the tradition of "The Story of Edgar Sawtelle" and "The Dogs of Babel," this unforgettable novel mines the darkest recesses of loss and the extraordinary capacity of the human spirit. It is an immensely satisfying novel that will introduce Thomas Trofimuk to readers who will want to hear his voice again and again.
ISBN: 
9780385529136
Author: 
Binding: 
Hardcover
Publisher: 
Publication Date: 
August 27, 2009
0
No votes yet

Paperback Fiction

My Favorite Thing Is Monsters Book Two
By: Ferris, Emil
Carnivale of Curiosities
By: Gibbs, Amiee
Looking for a Sign
By: Dumond, Susie
Not in Love
By: Hazelwood, Ali
Memory of Animals
By: Fuller, Claire
Camp Damascus
By: Tingle, Chuck
Maddalena and the Dark
By: Fine, Julia
Roman Stories
By: Lahiri, Jhumpa
Somebodys Fool
By: Russo, Richard

Hardcover Non-Fiction

Race to the Future
By: St Clair, Kassia
Willie Waylon and the Boys
By: Fairbanks, Brian
Call to Serve
By: Meacham, Jon
Sing Like Fish
By: Kingdon, Amorina
White Poverty
By: Barber, William J
Just Add Water
By: Ledecky, Katie
When the Sea Came Alive
By: Graff, Garrett M
Bird Milk & Mosquito Bones
By: Mattoo, Priyanka
This Earthly Globe
By: Di Robilant, Andrea

Hardcover Fiction

Four Squares
Author: Finger, Bobby
Middle of the Night
Author: Sager, Riley
Little Rot
Author: Emezi, Akwaeke
Cautious Travellers Guide to the Wastelands
Author: Brooks, Sarah
Parade
Author: Cusk, Rachel
Death in the Air
Author: Murali, Ram
Midnight Feast
Author: Foley, Lucy
Same As It Ever Was
Author: Lombardo, Claire
Pearce Oysters
Author: Takacs, Joselyn