View your shopping cart.

Banner Message

Please note that online availability does not reflect stock in store!

Please contact us via email or phone for immediate stock information.

Uncultured

Uncultured
$20.00

In the vein of Educated and The Glass Castle, Uncultured is more than a memoir about an exceptional upbringing, but about a woman who, no matter the lack of tools given to her, is determined to overcome.

Behind the tall, foreboding gates of a commune in Brazil, Daniella Mestyanek Young was raised in the religious cult the Children of God, also known as The Family, as the daughter of high-ranking members. Beholden to The Family's strict rules, Daniella suffered physical, emotional, and sexual abuse--masked as godly discipline and divine love--and was forbidden from getting a traditional education.

At fifteen years old, fed up with The Family and determined to build a better and freer life for herself, Daniella escaped to Texas, bravely enrolled herself in high school, and excelled. She later elected to join the military, where she believed she would finally belong. But she soon learned that her new world--surrounded by men on the sands of Afghanistan--was remarkably similar to the one she desperately tried to leave behind.

Told in a beautiful, propulsive voice and with clear-eyed honesty, Uncultured explores the dangers unleashed when harmful group mentality goes unrecognized, and is emblematic of the many ways women have to
contort themselves to survive.

ISBN: 
9781250835475
Binding: 
Paperback
Publisher: 
Publication Date: 
November 7, 2023
0
No votes yet

Paperback Fiction

Sword Catcher
By:
I Did It For You
By:
Atalanta
By: Saint, Jennifer
Best Possible Experience
By: Injam, Nishanth
Caretaker
By: Rash, Ron
Smothermoss
By: Alering, Alisa
Day
By: Cunningham, Michael
Axemans Carnival
By: Chidgey, Catherine
Centre
By: Siddiqi, Ayesha Manazir

Hardcover Non-Fiction

Willie Waylon and the Boys
By: Fairbanks, Brian
Color of Everything
By: Richards, Cory
Tree Collectors
By: Stewart, Amy
Cue the Sun
By: Nussbaum, Emily
When the Sea Came Alive
By: Graff, Garrett M
Sharks Dont Sink
By: Graham, Jasmin
Bird Milk & Mosquito Bones
By: Mattoo, Priyanka
This Earthly Globe
By: Di Robilant, Andrea
Autocracy Inc
By: Applebaum, Anne

Hardcover Fiction

Things Dont Break on Their Own
Author: Easter Collins, Sarah
Lost Story
Author: Shaffer, Meg
Catalina
Author: Cornejo Villavicencio, Karla
Book of Elsewhere
Author: Miéville, China
Liars
Author: Manguso, Sarah
Bright Sword
Author: Grossman, Lev
Best Lies
Author: Ellis, David
Spice Gate
Author: Srivatsa, Prashanth
I Was A Teenage Slasher
Author: Jones, Stephen Graham