View your shopping cart.

Banner Message

Please note that online availability does not reflect stock in store!

We will be CLOSED all day on Monday, July 4th.

Please check your SPAM folder for communications from us- for some reason our messages are being sent there more than usual :(

Three Girls from Bronzeville

Three Girls from Bronzeville
$17.99

A New York Times and Washington Post Notable Book
A Best Book of 2021 by BuzzFeed and Real Simple

 

An "unmissable" (Vogue), "exceptional" (The Washington Post), and "evocative" (Chicago Tribune) memoir about three Black girls from the storied Bronzeville section of Chicago that offers a penetrating exploration of race, opportunity, friendship, sisterhood, and the powerful forces at work that allow some to flourish...and others to falter.

 

They were three Black girls. Dawn, tall and studious; her sister, Kim, younger by three years and headstrong as they come; and her best friend, Debra, already prom-queen pretty by third grade. They bonded--fervently and intensely in that unique way of little girls--as they roamed the concrete landscape of Bronzeville, a historic neighborhood on Chicago's South Side, the destination of hundreds of thousands of Black folks who fled the ravages of the Jim Crow South.

 

These third-generation daughters of the Great Migration come of age in the 1970s, in the warm glow of the recent civil rights movement. It has offered them a promise, albeit nascent and fragile, that they will have more opportunities, rights, and freedoms than any generation of Black Americans in history. Their working-class, striving parents are eager for them to realize this hard-fought potential. But the girls have much more immediate concerns: hiding under the dining room table and eavesdropping on grown folks' business; collecting secret treasures; and daydreaming about their futures--Dawn and Debra, doctors, Kim a teacher. For a brief, wondrous moment the girls are all giggles and dreams and promises of "friends forever." And then fate intervenes, first slowly and then dramatically, sending them careening in wildly different directions. There's heartbreak, loss, displacement, and even murder. Dawn struggles to make sense of the shocking turns that consume her sister and her best friend, all the while asking herself a simple but profound question: Why?

 

In the vein of The Other Wes Moore and The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace, Three Girls from Bronzeville is a "deeply personal" (Real Simple) memoir that chronicles Dawn's attempt to find answers. It's at once a celebration of sisterhood and friendship, a testimony to the unique struggles of Black women, and a tour-de-force about the complex interplay of race, class, and opportunity, and how those forces shape our lives and our capacity for resilience and redemption.

ISBN: 
9781982107710
Author: 
Binding: 
Paperback
Publisher: 
Publication Date: 
June 7, 2022
0

Paperback Fiction

Songs in Ursa Major
By: Brodie, Emma
Last Graduate
By: Novik, Naomi
Embassy Wife
By: Crouch, Katie
She Who Became the Sun
By: Parker-Chan, Shelley
Rock Paper Scissors
By: Feeney, Alice
Secret Keeper of Jaipur
By: Joshi, Alka
Dead Romantics
By: Poston, Ashley
Hell of a Book
By: Mott, Jason
State of Terror
By: Clinton, Hillary Rodham
Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead
By: Austin, Emily

Hardcover Non-Fiction

Rogues
By: Keefe, Patrick Radden
Metaphysical Animals
By: Wiseman, Rachael
How to Raise an Antiracist
By: Kendi, Ibram X
As Cooked on TikTok
By: Tiktok
Immense World
By: Yong, Ed
Life in Light
By: Pipher, Mary
His Name Is George Floyd
By: Olorunnipa, Toluse
Boys and Oil
By: Brorby, Taylor
Daughters of the Flower Fragrant Garden
By: Li, Zhuqing

Hardcover Fiction

Poets House
Author: Thompson, Jean
Ballad of Perilous Graves
Author: Jennings, Alex
Dele Weds Destiny
Author: Obaro, Tomi
Scent of Burnt Flowers
Author: Bazawule, Blitz
Catch
Author: Fairbrother, Alison
Learning to Talk
Author: Mantel, Hilary
Mirror Mended
Author: Harrow, Alix E
Girls in Queens
Author: Kandic Torres, Christine
Lapvona
Author: Moshfegh, Ottessa
Horse
Author: Brooks, Geraldine