View your shopping cart.
Available for Special Order

Banner Message

Please note that online availability does not reflect stock in store!

Please check your SPAM folder for communications from us- for some reason our messages are being sent there more than usual :(

& Sons A Novel

& Sons A Novel
$27.00
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
"The Washington Post - The New Yorker - Esquire - The Austin Chronicle - Kansas City Star - The Guardian" (UK) "- BookPage - Flavorwire - Bookish"
"[A] big, brilliant novel."--"The New York Times Book Review"
Who is A. N. Dyer? "& Sons" is a literary masterwork for readers of "The Art of Fielding, The Emperor's Children, "and "Wonder Boys"--the panoramic, deeply affecting story of an iconic novelist, two interconnected families, and the heartbreaking truths that fiction can hide.
The funeral of Charles Henry Topping on Manhattan's Upper East Side would have been a minor affair (his two-hundred-word obit in "The New York Times "notwithstanding) but for the presence of one particular mourner: the notoriously reclusive author A. N. Dyer, whose novel "Ampersand" stands as a classic of American teenage angst. But as Andrew Newbold Dyer delivers the eulogy for his oldest friend, ""he suffers a breakdown over the life he's led and the people he's hurt and the novel that will forever endure as his legacy. He must gather his three sons for the first time in many years--before it's too late.
So begins a wild, transformative, heartbreaking week, as witnessed by Philip Topping, who, like his late father, finds himself caught up in the swirl of the Dyer family. First there's son Richard, a struggling screenwriter and father, returning from self-imposed exile in California. In the middle lingers Jamie, settled in Brooklyn after his twenty-year mission of making documentaries about human suffering. And last is Andy, the half brother whose mysterious birth tore the Dyers apart seventeen years ago, now in New York on spring break, determined to lose his virginity before returning to the prestigious New England boarding school that inspired "Ampersand." But only when the real purpose of this reunion comes to light do these sons realize just how much is at stake, not only for their father but for themselves and three generations of their family.
In this daring feat of fiction, David Gilbert establishes himself as one of our most original, entertaining, and insightful authors. "& Sons" is that rarest of treasures: a startlingly imaginative novel about families and how they define us, and the choices we make when faced with our own mortality.
NATIONAL BESTSELLER - A "NEW YORK TIMES "EDITORS' CHOICE
"Big, brilliant, and terrifically funny."--Jess Walter, author of "Beautiful Ruins"
"Extraordinary."--"Time"
"Smart and savage . . . Seductive and ripe with both comedy and heartbreak, ["& Sons"] made me reconsider my stance on . . . the term 'instant classic.'"--NPR
"A big, ambitious book about fathers and sons, Oedipal envy and sibling rivalry, and the dynamics between art and life . . . ["& Sons"] does a wonderful job of conjuring up its characters' memories . . . in layered, almost Proustian detail."--Michiko Kakutani, "The New York Times"
" "
"[A] smart, engrossing saga . . . Perfect for fans of Jonathan Franzen or Claire Messud.""--Entertainment Weekly"
"This great big novel is . . . infused with warmth and wisdom about what it means to be a family."--"The Boston Globe"
"Audacious . . . [one of the year's] most dazzlingly smart, fully realized works of fiction."--"The Washington Post"
ISBN: 
9780812993967
Author: 
Binding: 
Hardcover
Publisher: 
Publication Date: 
June 18, 2013
0

Paperback Fiction

Lincoln in the Bardo
By: Saunders, George
Shit Cassandra Saw
By: Kirby, Gwen E
Childrens Blizzard
By: Benjamin, Melanie
Whats Mine and Yours
By: Coster, Naima
Ex-Husband
By: Hamilton, Karen
Raft of Stars
By: Graff, Andrew J
Better Luck Next Time
By: Johnson, Julia Claiborne
Cheat Day
By: Stratman, LIV
Gilded Ones
By: Forna, Namina

Hardcover Non-Fiction

Call Us What We Carry / The Hill We Climb and Other Poems
By: Gorman, Amanda
Lost & Found
By: Schulz, Kathryn
Little Closer to Home
By: Zee, Ginger
I Came All This Way to Meet You
By: Attenberg, Jami
Betrayal of Anne Frank
By: Sullivan, Rosemary
Manifesto
By: Evaristo, Bernardine

Hardcover Fiction

Greek Myths
Author: Higgins, Charlotte
To Paradise
Author: Yanagihara, Hanya
Violeta [English Edition]
Author: Allende, Isabel
Joan Is Okay
Author: Wang, Weike
Yinka Where Is Your Huzband
Author: Damilola Blackburn, Lizzie
Strangers I Know
Author: Durastanti, Claudia
How High We Go in the Dark
Author: Nagamatsu, Sequoia
Olga Dies Dreaming
Author: Gonzalez, Xochitl
Devil House
Author: Darnielle, John