View your shopping cart.

Banner Message

Please note that online availability does not reflect stock in store!

Please check your SPAM folder for communications from us- for some reason our messages are being sent there more than usual :(

Sinkable

Sinkable
$28.00

From the national bestselling author of The Food Explorer, a fascinating and rollicking plunge into the story of the world's most famous shipwreck, the RMS Titanic

 

On a frigid April night in 1912, the world's largest--and soon most famous--ocean liner struck an iceberg and slipped beneath the waves. She had scarcely disappeared before her new journey began, a seemingly limitless odyssey through the world's fixation with her every tragic detail. Plans to find and raise the Titanic began almost immediately. Yet seven decades passed before it was found. Why? And of some three million shipwrecks that litter the ocean floor, why is the world still so fascinated with this one?
In Sinkable, Daniel Stone spins a fascinating tale of history, science, and obsession, uncovering the untold story of the Titanic not as a ship but as a shipwreck. He explores generations of eccentrics, like American Charles Smith, whose 1914 recovery plan using a synchronized armada of ships bearing electromagnets was complex, convincing, and utterly impossible; Jack Grimm, a Texas oil magnate who fruitlessly dropped a fortune to find the wreck after failing to find Noah's Ark; and the British Doug Woolley, a former pantyhose factory worker who has claimed, since the 1960s, to be the true owner of the Titanic wreckage.
Along the way, Sinkable takes readers through the two miles of ocean water in which the Titanic sank, showing how the ship broke apart and why, and delves into the odd history of our understanding of such depths. Author Daniel Stone studies the landscape of the seabed, which in the Titanic's day was thought to be as smooth and featureless as a bathtub. He interviews scientists to understand the decades of rust and decomposition that are slowly but surely consuming the ship. (It is expected to disappear entirely within a few decades!) He even journeys over the Atlantic, during a global pandemic, to track down the elusive Doug Woolley. And Stone turns inward, looking at his own dark obsession with both the Titanic and shipwrecks in general, and why he spends hours watching ships sink on YouTube.
Brimming with humor, curiosity and wit, Sinkable follows in the tradition of Susan Orlean and Bill Bryson, offering up a page-turning work of personal journalism and an immensely entertaining romp through the deep sea and the nature of obsession.

ISBN: 
9780593329375
Author: 
Binding: 
Hardcover
Publisher: 
Publication Date: 
August 16, 2022
0

Paperback Fiction

Our Country Friends
By: Shteyngart, Gary
Go Tell the Bees That I Am Gone
By: Gabaldon, Diana
Defending Britta Stein
By: Balson, Ronald H
Family Izquierdo
By: Degollado, Rubén
Harlem Shuffle
By: Whitehead, Colson
Matrix
By: Groff, Lauren
Still Life
By: Winman, Sarah
Drunk on Love
By: Guillory, Jasmine
System So Magnificent It Is Blinding
By: Svensson, Amanda

Hardcover Non-Fiction

Solito
By: Zamora, Javier
Ducks
By: Beaton, Kate
Faith Hope and Carnage
By: O'Hagan, Seán
Woman Without Shame
By: Cisneros, Sandra
Essentials of Classic Italian Cooking
By: Hazan, Marcella
Lady Justice
By: Lithwick, Dahlia
What If 2
By: Munroe, Randall
One Hundred Saturdays
By: Frank, Michael
Starry Messenger
By: Tyson, Neil Degrasse

Hardcover Fiction

Nona the Ninth
Author: Muir, Tamsyn
Lucy by the Sea
Author: Strout, Elizabeth
Tell Me Im An Artist
Author: Martin, Chelsea
Witch and the Tsar
Author: Gilmore, Olesya Salnikova
Old Place
Author: Finger, Bobby
Bullet That Missed
Author: Osman, Richard
Random
Author: Jillette, Penn
People Person
Author: Carty-Williams, Candice