View your shopping cart.

Banner Message

Please note that online availability does not reflect stock in store!

Please contact us via email or phone for immediate stock information.

Rita Chang-Eppig "Deep as the Sky, Red as the Sea" with Julia Fine

Rita Chang-Eppig will be releasing her new her new book, Deep as the Sky, Red as the Sea, in-store at The Book Cellar, in conversation with Julia Fine, who's new book Maddalena and the Dark is releasing June 13th!

About the Author:

Rita Chang-Eppig received her MFA in fiction from NYU. Her stories have appeared in The Best American Short Stories 2021, McSweeney’s Quarterly Concern, Conjunctions, Clarkesworld, The Rumpus, Virginia Quarterly Review, and elsewhere. She has received fellowships from the Rona Jaffe Foundation, the Vermont Studio Center, the Writers Grotto, the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference, and the Martha Heasley Cox Center for Steinbeck Studies at San Jose State University. 

About the Book:

For readers of Outlawed, Piranesi, and The Night Tiger, a dazzling historical novel about a legendary Chinese pirate queen, her fight to save her fleet from the forces allied against them, and the dangerous price of power.

When Shek Yeung sees a Portuguese sailor slay her husband, a feared pirate, she knows she must act swiftly or die. Instead of mourning, Shek Yeung launches a new plan: immediately marrying her husband's second-in-command, and agreeing to bear him a son and heir, in order to retain power over her half of the fleet.

But as Shek Yeung vies for control over the army she knows she was born to lead, larger threats loom. The Chinese Emperor has charged a brutal, crafty nobleman with ridding the South China Seas of pirates, and the Europeans-tired of losing ships, men, and money to Shek Yeung's alliance-have new plans for the area. Even worse, Shek Yeung's cutthroat retributions create problems all their own. As Shek Yeung navigates new motherhood and the crises of leadership, she must decide how long she is willing to fight, and at what price, or risk losing her fleet, her new family, and even her life.

A book of salt and grit, blood and sweat, Deep as the Sky, Red as the Sea is an unmissable portrait of a woman who leads with the courage and ruthlessness of our darkest and most beloved heroes.

About the Conversation Partner:

Julia Fine is the author of The Upstairs House, winner of the Chicago Review of Books Award for Fiction, and What Should Be Wild, which was shortlisted for the Bram Stoker Award for Superior First Novel. Her third novel, Maddalena and the Dark, is forthcoming in June 2023. She teaches writing in Chicago, where she lives with her family.

Event Start Time: 
Thursday, June 01, 2023 - 7:00pm
Publish To Home Page: 
Publish
Enable RSVP Link

Paperback Fiction

By:
Lone Women
By: Lavalle, Victor
Spell of Good Things
By: Adebayo, Ayobami
Brutes
By: Tate, Dizz
VenCo
By: Dimaline, Cherie
House of Eve
By: Johnson, Sadeqa
True Love Experiment
By: Lauren, Christina
She and Her Cat
By: Nagakawa, Naruki
Chain Gang All Stars
By: Adjei-Brenyah, Nana Kwame

Hardcover Non-Fiction

Madness
By: Hylton, Antonia
Secret Life of Hidden Places
By: Tucholke, April Genevieve
Alphabetical Diaries
By: Heti, Sheila
What Weve Become
By: Metzl, Jonathan M
Transient and Strange
By: Greenfieldboyce, Nell
How to Live Free in a Dangerous World
By: Lawson, Shayla
Get the Picture
By: Bosker, Bianca
I Survived Capitalism and All I Got Was This Lousy T-Shirt
By: Pendleton, Madeline
Survivors of the Clotilda
By: Durkin, Hannah

Hardcover Fiction

Fourteen Days
Author: Preston, Douglas
Education in Malice
Author: Gibson, S T
Waters
Author: Campbell, Bonnie Jo
Kamogawa Food Detectives
Author: Kashiwai, Hisashi
Wild and Heavenly Place
Author: Oliveira, Robin
Book of Love
Author: Link, Kelly
Paper Cage
Author: Baragwanath, Tom
Martyr
Author: Akbar, Kaveh
With a Little Luck - SIGNED COPY
Author: Meyer, Marissa