View your shopping cart.

Banner Message

Please note that online availability does not reflect stock in store!

We will be CLOSED all day on Monday, July 4th.

Please check your SPAM folder for communications from us- for some reason our messages are being sent there more than usual :(

Poets House

Poets House
$27.00
An unforgettable, lighthearted story about a young woman who discovers the insular world of writers, from the New York Times bestselling author of The Year We Left Home.

Carla is in her twenties, working for a landscaper, lacking confidence, still unsure what direction her life will take. Viridian is a lauded and lovely aging poet whose reputation has been defined by her infamous affair with a famous male poet, Mathias, many years earlier. When Carla is hired to work at Viridian's house, she is perplexed by this community of writers: their tendency to recite lines in conversation, the stories of their many liaisons, their endless wine-soaked nights. And still she becomes enamored with Viridian and her whole circle, and especially with the power of words, the "ache and hunger that can both be awakened and soothed by a poem," a hunger that Carla feels sharply at this stagnating moment in her young life. At the same time, she sees how even Viridian has had to compromise so much to take her place in the world of letters. And as Viridian's standing begins to fade, a number of people angle to gain possession of Mathias's cycle of poems written about Viridian, a cycle he famously burned as he read them. Yet long after Mathias' s death, one copy may still rest with Viridian. If so, why won't she release it?

A wry meditation on art as both transformative and on the ways in which it can be leveraged as commerce, as well as a perceptive examination of the female artist, Jean Thompson's novel is at once delightfully funny and wise, and will resonate with readers who loved Lily King's Writers & Lovers, Meg Wolitzer's The Female Persuasion, and Susan Choi's Trust Exercise.

ISBN: 
9781643751566
Author: 
Binding: 
Hardcover
Publisher: 
Publication Date: 
July 12, 2022
0

Paperback Fiction

Songs in Ursa Major
By: Brodie, Emma
Last Graduate
By: Novik, Naomi
Embassy Wife
By: Crouch, Katie
She Who Became the Sun
By: Parker-Chan, Shelley
Rock Paper Scissors
By: Feeney, Alice
Secret Keeper of Jaipur
By: Joshi, Alka
Dead Romantics
By: Poston, Ashley
Hell of a Book
By: Mott, Jason
State of Terror
By: Clinton, Hillary Rodham
Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead
By: Austin, Emily

Hardcover Non-Fiction

Rogues
By: Keefe, Patrick Radden
Metaphysical Animals
By: Wiseman, Rachael
How to Raise an Antiracist
By: Kendi, Ibram X
As Cooked on TikTok
By: Tiktok
Immense World
By: Yong, Ed
Life in Light
By: Pipher, Mary
His Name Is George Floyd
By: Olorunnipa, Toluse
Boys and Oil
By: Brorby, Taylor
Daughters of the Flower Fragrant Garden
By: Li, Zhuqing

Hardcover Fiction

Poets House
Author: Thompson, Jean
Ballad of Perilous Graves
Author: Jennings, Alex
Dele Weds Destiny
Author: Obaro, Tomi
Scent of Burnt Flowers
Author: Bazawule, Blitz
Catch
Author: Fairbrother, Alison
Learning to Talk
Author: Mantel, Hilary
Mirror Mended
Author: Harrow, Alix E
Girls in Queens
Author: Kandic Torres, Christine
Lapvona
Author: Moshfegh, Ottessa
Horse
Author: Brooks, Geraldine