View your shopping cart.
Available for Special Order

Banner Message

Please note that online availability does not reflect stock in store!

Our American Friend

Our American Friend
$27.99
"Emily in Paris meets Scandal" (The New York Times) in this propulsive Cold War-era political thriller as one intrepid journalist writes the official biography of the mysterious First Lady--uncovering secrets that could destroy them both.

Tired of covering the grating dysfunction of Washington and the increasingly outrageous antics of President Henry Caine, White House correspondent Sofie Morse quits her job and plans to leave politics behind. But when she gets a call from the office of First Lada Lara Caine, asking Sofie to come in for a private meeting with Lara, her curiosity is piqued. Sofie, like the rest of the world, knows little about Lara--only that Lara was born in Soviet Russia, raised in Paris, and worked as a model before moving to America and marrying the notoriously brash future president.

When Lara asks Sofie to write her official biography, and to finally fill in the gaps of her history, Sofie's curiosity gets the better of her. She begins to spend more and more time in the White House, slowing developing a bond with Lara--and eventually a deep and surprising friendship with her.

Even more surprising to Sofie is the fact that Lara is entirely candid about her mysterious past. The First Lady doesn't hesitate to speak about her beloved father's work as an undercover KGB officer in Paris--and how he wasn't the only person in her family working undercover during the Cold War.

As Lara's story unfolds, Sofie can't help but wonder why Lara is rehashing such sensitive information. Why to her? And why now? Suddenly Sofie is in the middle of a game of cat and mouse that could have explosive ramifications.

For fans of The Secrets We Kept and American Wife, Our American Friend is a "gripping" (People) Cold War-era spy thriller crossed with a fictional biography of a First Lady. Spanning from the 1970s to the present day, traveling from Moscow and Paris to Washington and New York, Anna Pitoniak's novel is a "spectacular" (Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author) page-turner--and a devasting love story--about power and complicity and how sometimes the fate of the world is in the hands of the people you'd never expect.

ISBN: 
9781982158804
Author: 
Binding: 
Hardcover
Publisher: 
Publication Date: 
February 15, 2022
0

Paperback Fiction

Sorry Bro
By: Voskuni, Taleen
Books of Jacob
By: Tokarczuk, Olga
Violeta [English Edition]
By: Allende, Isabel
Sweet Spot
By: Poeppel, Amy
Heart Bones
By: Hoover, Colleen
Stolen
By: Laestadius, Ann-Helén
Notes on an Execution
By: Kukafka, Danya
Club
By: Lloyd, Ellery
Swimmers
By: Otsuka, Julie

Hardcover Non-Fiction

Chuck Berry
By: Smith, Rj
Empire of Ice and Stone
By: Levy, Buddy
Polar Exposure
By: Aston, Felicity
Surrender
By: Bono
Awe
By: Keltner, Dacher
Rough Sleepers
By: Kidder, Tracy
Spare
By: Prince Harry the Duke of Sussex
Children of the State
By: Hobbs, Jeff
Guest at the Feast
By: Toibin, Colm

Hardcover Fiction

How to Sell a Haunted House
Author: Hendrix, Grady
In the Upper Country
Author: Thomas, Kai
River Sing Me Home
Author: Shearer, Eleanor
Pod
Author: Paull, Laline
Hell Bent
Author: Bardugo, Leigh
Everyone in My Family Has Killed Someone
Author: Stevenson, Benjamin
Small World
Author: Zigman, Laura
After Sappho
Author: Schwartz, Selby Wynn
This Other Eden
Author: Harding, Paul