View your shopping cart.

Banner Message

Please note that online availability does not reflect stock in store!

Please contact us via email or phone for immediate stock information.

One of Our Kind

One of Our Kind
$28.00
For fans of The Sellout and The Other Black Girl, a propulsive, daring satire of race and privilege set in an all-Black gated community from #1 New York Times best-selling author Nicola Yoon - "Brilliant, provocative, seminal....Your book club will be discussing this one for DAYS."--Jodi Picoult

Jasmyn and King Williams move their family to the planned Black utopia of Liberty, California hoping to find a community of like-minded people, a place where their growing family can thrive. King settles in at once, embracing the Liberty ethos, including the luxe wellness center at the top of the hill, which proves to be the heart of the community. But Jasmyn struggles to find her place. She expected to find liberals and social justice activists striving for racial equality, but Liberty residents seem more focused on booking spa treatments and ignoring the world's troubles.

Jasmyn's only friends in the community are equally perplexed and frustrated by most residents' outlook. Then Jasmyn discovers a terrible secret about Liberty and its founders. Frustration turns to dread as their loved ones start embracing the Liberty way of life.

Will the truth destroy her world in ways she never could have imagined?

A gripping thriller with wry, razor-sharp social commentary, One of Our Kind explores the ways in which freedom is complicated by the presumptions we make about ourselves and each other.

ISBN: 
9780593470671
Author: 
Binding: 
Hardcover
Publisher: 
Publication Date: 
June 11, 2024
0
No votes yet

Paperback Fiction

Sword Catcher
By:
I Did It For You
By:
Atalanta
By: Saint, Jennifer
Best Possible Experience
By: Injam, Nishanth
Caretaker
By: Rash, Ron
Smothermoss
By: Alering, Alisa
Day
By: Cunningham, Michael
Axemans Carnival
By: Chidgey, Catherine
Centre
By: Siddiqi, Ayesha Manazir

Hardcover Non-Fiction

Willie Waylon and the Boys
By: Fairbanks, Brian
Color of Everything
By: Richards, Cory
Tree Collectors
By: Stewart, Amy
Cue the Sun
By: Nussbaum, Emily
When the Sea Came Alive
By: Graff, Garrett M
Sharks Dont Sink
By: Graham, Jasmin
Bird Milk & Mosquito Bones
By: Mattoo, Priyanka
This Earthly Globe
By: Di Robilant, Andrea
Autocracy Inc
By: Applebaum, Anne

Hardcover Fiction

Things Dont Break on Their Own
Author: Easter Collins, Sarah
Lost Story
Author: Shaffer, Meg
Catalina
Author: Cornejo Villavicencio, Karla
Book of Elsewhere
Author: Miéville, China
Liars
Author: Manguso, Sarah
Bright Sword
Author: Grossman, Lev
Best Lies
Author: Ellis, David
Spice Gate
Author: Srivatsa, Prashanth
I Was A Teenage Slasher
Author: Jones, Stephen Graham