View your shopping cart.
Available for Special Order

Banner Message

Please note that online availability does not reflect stock in store!

Please check your SPAM folder for communications from us- for some reason our messages are being sent there more than usual :(

Nobu

Nobu
$25.00
"In this outstanding memoir, chef and restaurateur Matsuhisa...shares lessons in humility, gratitude, and empathy that will stick with readers long after they've finished the final chapter." --Publishers Weekly (starred review)

A fascinating and unique memoir by the acclaimed celebrity chef and international restaurateur, Nobu, as he divulges both his dramatic life story and reflects on the philosophy and passion that has made him one of the world's most widely respected Japanese fusion culinary artists.

Nobu needs no introduction. One of the world's most widely acclaimed restaurateurs, his influence on food and hospitality can be found at the highest levels of haute-cuisine to the food trucks you frequent during the work week--this is the Nobu that the public knows.

But now, we are finally introduced to the private Nobu: the man who failed three times before starting the restaurant that would grow into an empire; the man who credits the love and support of his wife and children as the only thing keeping him from committing suicide when his first restaurant burned down; and the man who values the busboy who makes sure each glass is crystal clear as highly as the chef who slices the fish for Omakase perfectly.

What makes Nobu special, and what made him famous, is the spirit of what exists on these pages. He has the traditional Japanese perspective that there is great pride to be found in every element of doing a job well--no matter how humble that job is. Furthermore, he shows us repeatedly that success is as much about perseverance in the face of adversity as it is about innate talent.

Not just for serious foodies, this inspiring memoir is perfect for fans of Marie Kondo's The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up and Danny Meyer's Setting the Table. Nobu's writing does what he does best--it marries the philosophies of East and West to create something entirely new and remarkable.

ISBN: 
9781501122798
Author: 
Binding: 
Hardcover
Publisher: 
Publication Date: 
November 7, 2017
0

Paperback Fiction

Shit Cassandra Saw
By: Kirby, Gwen E
Childrens Blizzard
By: Benjamin, Melanie
Passage North
By: Arudpragasam, Anuk
Ex-Husband
By: Hamilton, Karen
Raft of Stars
By: Graff, Andrew J
Better Luck Next Time
By: Johnson, Julia Claiborne
Cheat Day
By: Stratman, LIV
Gilded Ones
By: Forna, Namina

Hardcover Non-Fiction

Call Us What We Carry / The Hill We Climb and Other Poems
By: Gorman, Amanda
Lost & Found
By: Schulz, Kathryn
Little Closer to Home
By: Zee, Ginger
I Came All This Way to Meet You
By: Attenberg, Jami
Betrayal of Anne Frank
By: Sullivan, Rosemary
Manifesto
By: Evaristo, Bernardine

Hardcover Fiction

Greek Myths
Author: Higgins, Charlotte
To Paradise
Author: Yanagihara, Hanya
Joan Is Okay
Author: Wang, Weike
Yinka Where Is Your Huzband
Author: Damilola Blackburn, Lizzie
Small World
Author: Evison, Jonathan
Wahala
Author: May, Nikki
How High We Go in the Dark
Author: Nagamatsu, Sequoia
Yonder
Author: Asim, Jabari
Olga Dies Dreaming
Author: Gonzalez, Xochitl