View your shopping cart.
Available for Special Order

Banner Message

Please note that online availability does not reflect stock in store!

For immediate knowledge of what we have in stock, please give us a call at 773-293-2665 or email us at words@bookcellarinc.com

Thank you for your patience and grace during the busy holiday season! 

Nobu

Nobu
$25.00
"In this outstanding memoir, chef and restaurateur Matsuhisa...shares lessons in humility, gratitude, and empathy that will stick with readers long after they've finished the final chapter." --Publishers Weekly (starred review)

A fascinating and unique memoir by the acclaimed celebrity chef and international restaurateur, Nobu, as he divulges both his dramatic life story and reflects on the philosophy and passion that has made him one of the world's most widely respected Japanese fusion culinary artists.

Nobu needs no introduction. One of the world's most widely acclaimed restaurateurs, his influence on food and hospitality can be found at the highest levels of haute-cuisine to the food trucks you frequent during the work week--this is the Nobu that the public knows.

But now, we are finally introduced to the private Nobu: the man who failed three times before starting the restaurant that would grow into an empire; the man who credits the love and support of his wife and children as the only thing keeping him from committing suicide when his first restaurant burned down; and the man who values the busboy who makes sure each glass is crystal clear as highly as the chef who slices the fish for Omakase perfectly.

What makes Nobu special, and what made him famous, is the spirit of what exists on these pages. He has the traditional Japanese perspective that there is great pride to be found in every element of doing a job well--no matter how humble that job is. Furthermore, he shows us repeatedly that success is as much about perseverance in the face of adversity as it is about innate talent.

Not just for serious foodies, this inspiring memoir is perfect for fans of Marie Kondo's The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up and Danny Meyer's Setting the Table. Nobu's writing does what he does best--it marries the philosophies of East and West to create something entirely new and remarkable.

ISBN: 
9781501122798
Author: 
Binding: 
Hardcover
Publisher: 
Publication Date: 
November 7, 2017
0

Paperback Fiction

When Franny Stands Up
By: Robins, Eden
Brown Girls
By: Andreades, Daphne Palasi
Ballerinas
By: Kapelke-Dale, Rachel
Last Life
By: Messud, Claire
Wish for Winter
By: Shipman, Viola
Best American Short Stories 2022
By: Greer, Andrew Sean
Anywhere You Run
By: Morris, Wanda M
Greenwich Park
By: Faulkner, Katherine
Seven Moons of Maali Almeida
By: Karunatilaka, Shehan

Hardcover Non-Fiction

Chuck Berry
By: Smith, Rj
Book of Days
By: Smith, Patti
Polar Exposure
By: Aston, Felicity
Surrender
By: Bono
Listen To Your Vegetables
By: Heddings, Kate
Hollywood The Oral History
By: Wasson, Sam
Dickens and Prince
By: Hornby, Nick
Philosophy of Modern Song
By: Dylan, Bob
Great Air Race
By: Lancaster, John

Hardcover Fiction

Winterland
Author: Meadows, Rae
World of Curiosities
Author: Penny, Louise
Someday Maybe
Author: Nwabineli, Onyi
Before Your Memory Fades
Author: Kawaguchi, Toshikazu
Twist of a Knife
Author: Horowitz, Anthony
All the Broken Places
Author: Boyne, John
Boy and the Dog
Author: Hase, Seishu
Five Survive
Author: Jackson, Holly
Alone with You in the Ether: A Love Story
Author: Blake, Olivie