View your shopping cart.

Banner Message

Please note that online availability does not reflect stock in store!

Please contact us via email or phone for immediate stock information.

Lady Tans Circle of Women

Lady Tans Circle of Women
$18.99
*NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!*

From "one of those special writers capable of delivering both poetry and plot" (The New York Times Book Review) an immersive historical novel inspired by the true story of a woman physician in 15th-century China--perfect for fans of Lisa See's classics Snow Flower and the Secret Fan and Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane.

According to Confucius, "an educated woman is a worthless woman," but Tan Yunxian--born into an elite family, yet haunted by death, separations, and loneliness--is being raised by her grandparents to be of use. Her grandmother is one of only a handful of female doctors in China, and she teaches Yunxian the pillars of Chinese medicine, the Four Examinations--looking, listening, touching, and asking--something a man can never do with a female patient.

From a young age, Yunxian learns about women's illnesses, many of which relate to childbearing, alongside a young midwife-in-training, Meiling. The two girls find fast friendship and a mutual purpose--despite the prohibition that a doctor should never touch blood while a midwife comes in frequent contact with it--and they vow to be forever friends, sharing in each other's joys and struggles. No mud, no lotus, they tell themselves: from adversity beauty can bloom.

But when Yunxian is sent into an arranged marriage, her mother-in-law forbids her from seeing Meiling and from helping the women and girls in the household. Yunxian is to act like a proper wife--embroider bound-foot slippers, recite poetry, give birth to sons, and stay forever within the walls of the family compound, the Garden of Fragrant Delights.

How might a woman like Yunxian break free of these traditions and lead a life of such importance that many of her remedies are still used five centuries later? How might the power of friendship support or complicate these efforts? A captivating story of women helping each other, Lady Tan's Circle of Women is a triumphant reimagining of the life of one person who was remarkable in the Ming dynasty and would be considered remarkable today.

ISBN: 
9781982117092
Author: 
Binding: 
Paperback
Publisher: 
Publication Date: 
June 11, 2024
0
No votes yet

Paperback Fiction

Sword Catcher
By:
I Did It For You
By:
Atalanta
By: Saint, Jennifer
Best Possible Experience
By: Injam, Nishanth
Caretaker
By: Rash, Ron
Smothermoss
By: Alering, Alisa
Day
By: Cunningham, Michael
Axemans Carnival
By: Chidgey, Catherine
Centre
By: Siddiqi, Ayesha Manazir

Hardcover Non-Fiction

Willie Waylon and the Boys
By: Fairbanks, Brian
Color of Everything
By: Richards, Cory
Tree Collectors
By: Stewart, Amy
Cue the Sun
By: Nussbaum, Emily
When the Sea Came Alive
By: Graff, Garrett M
Sharks Dont Sink
By: Graham, Jasmin
Bird Milk & Mosquito Bones
By: Mattoo, Priyanka
This Earthly Globe
By: Di Robilant, Andrea
Autocracy Inc
By: Applebaum, Anne

Hardcover Fiction

Things Dont Break on Their Own
Author: Easter Collins, Sarah
Lost Story
Author: Shaffer, Meg
Catalina
Author: Cornejo Villavicencio, Karla
Book of Elsewhere
Author: Miéville, China
Liars
Author: Manguso, Sarah
Bright Sword
Author: Grossman, Lev
Best Lies
Author: Ellis, David
Spice Gate
Author: Srivatsa, Prashanth
I Was A Teenage Slasher
Author: Jones, Stephen Graham