View your shopping cart.

Banner Message

Please note that online availability does not reflect stock in store!

Please contact us via email or phone for immediate stock information.

Kerri Maher "All You Have To Do Is Call" with Renee Rosen

Kerri Maher will be celebrating the release of her new book All You Have To Do Is Call here at The Book Cellar with conversation partner Renee Rosen!

About the Book:

A dramatic and inspiring novel based on the true story of the Jane Collective and the brave women who fought for our right to choose, from the USA Today bestselling author of The Paris Bookseller.

Chicago, early 1970s: Who does a woman call when she needs help? Jane.

The best-known secret in the city, Jane is an underground women’s health organization composed entirely of women helping women, empowering them to live lives free from the expectations of society by offering reproductive counseling and safe, illegal abortions. Veronica, Jane’s founder, prides herself on the services she has provided to thousands of women, yet the price of others’ freedom is that she leads a double life. When she’s not at Jane, Veronica plays the role of a conventional housewife—which becomes even more difficult during her own high-risk pregnancy.

Two more women in Veronica’s neighborhood are grappling with similar disconnects. Margaret, a young professor at the University of Chicago, secretly volunteers at Jane as she falls in love with a man whose attitude toward his ex-wife increasingly disturbs her. Patty, who’s long been content as a devoted wife and mother, has begun to sense that something essential is missing from her life. When her runaway younger sister Eliza shows up unexpectedly, Patty is forced to come to terms with what it really means to love and support a sister.

In this historic moment when the personal was nothing if not political, when television, movies, and commercials told women they’d “come a long way, baby,” Veronica, Margaret, and Patty must make choices that will change the course of their lives forever.

About the Author:

Kerri Maher is the USA Today bestselling author of The Paris Bookseller, The Girl in White Gloves, The Kennedy Debutante, and, under the name Kerri Majors, This Is Not a Writing Manual: Notes for the Young Writer in the Real World. She holds an MFA from Columbia University and lives with her daughter and dog in a leafy suburb west of Boston, Massachusetts.

About the Conversation Partner:

Renée Rosen is the USA Today bestselling author of The Social Graces, Park Avenue Summer, Windy City Blues, White Collar Girl, What the Lady Wants and Dollface. Her latest, FIFTH AVENUE GLAMOUR GIRL, is a story of friendship, glitz, and glamour in 1940s New York where a young woman gets pulled into Estée Lauder's enigmatic orbit as the future cosmetic icon prepares to take the world by storm. This is for lovers of glamorous 20th century set novels, feel-good women's fiction, historical fiction, and for fans of Kate Quinn and Fiona Davis.

Event Start Time: 
Tuesday, September 26, 2023 - 7:00pm

Paperback Fiction

Sword Catcher
By:
I Did It For You
By:
Atalanta
By: Saint, Jennifer
Best Possible Experience
By: Injam, Nishanth
Caretaker
By: Rash, Ron
Smothermoss
By: Alering, Alisa
Day
By: Cunningham, Michael
Axemans Carnival
By: Chidgey, Catherine
Centre
By: Siddiqi, Ayesha Manazir

Hardcover Non-Fiction

Willie Waylon and the Boys
By: Fairbanks, Brian
Color of Everything
By: Richards, Cory
Tree Collectors
By: Stewart, Amy
Cue the Sun
By: Nussbaum, Emily
When the Sea Came Alive
By: Graff, Garrett M
Sharks Dont Sink
By: Graham, Jasmin
Bird Milk & Mosquito Bones
By: Mattoo, Priyanka
This Earthly Globe
By: Di Robilant, Andrea
Autocracy Inc
By: Applebaum, Anne

Hardcover Fiction

Things Dont Break on Their Own
Author: Easter Collins, Sarah
Lost Story
Author: Shaffer, Meg
Catalina
Author: Cornejo Villavicencio, Karla
Book of Elsewhere
Author: Miéville, China
Liars
Author: Manguso, Sarah
Bright Sword
Author: Grossman, Lev
Best Lies
Author: Ellis, David
Spice Gate
Author: Srivatsa, Prashanth
I Was A Teenage Slasher
Author: Jones, Stephen Graham