You are here

**CANCELED** Local Author Night ft. Carlene O'Connor, Annelise Ryan, Billy Lombardo, Peter Belmonte and Dan Helpingstine

It's Local Author Night at The Book Cellar, featuring Carlene O'Connor (Murder in An Irish Cottage), Annelise Ryan (Dead Ringer), Billy Lombardo (Morning Will Come), Peter Belmonte (Chicago-area Italians in World War I) and Dan Helpingstine (The 1919 Black Sox Scandal). 

 

 

Annelise Ryan is the pseudonym for the author of the Mattie Winston Mysteriesand another mystery series. She has written more than 200 published articles, worked as a book reviewer for Barnes & Noble, and is an active member of Mystery Writers of America and International Thriller Writers. She currently works as a registered nurse in an ER.

Drawing from the author's personal experience as a nurse, Dead Ringer blends the perfect amount of crime scene technique with humor that will have readers cringing and chuckling at the same time. Fans of Patricia Cornwell and Janet Evanovich will rejoice at the small-town feel of Sorenson, Wisconsin, while the complex mystery attracts a wider audience of mystery fans. 

Carlene O’Connor comes from a long line of Irish storytellers. Her great-grandmother emigrated from Ireland filled with tales and the stories have been flowing ever since. Of all the places across the pond she’s wandered, she fell most in love with a walled town in County Limerick and was inspired to create the town of Kilbane, County Cork. Carlene currently divides her time between Chicago and the Emerald Isle. She is currently at work on the next book in the Irish Village Mystery series. 

About Murder in an Irish Cottage: Family is everything to Siobhán: her five siblings; her dear departed mother for whom the family business, Naomi's Bistro, is named; and now her fiancé, Macdara Flannery. So precious is her engagement that Siobhán wants to keep it just between the two of them for a little longer. But Macdara is her family, which is why when his cousin Jane frantically calls for his help, Siobhán is at his side as the two garda rush from Kilbane to the rural village where Jane and her mother recently moved. Unfortunately, tragedy awaits them. They find Jane, who is blind, outside the cottage in a state. Inside, Aunt Ellen lies on her bed in a fancy red dress, no longer breathing. A pillow on the floor and a nearby teacup suggest the mode of death to their trained eyes: the woman was poisoned and smothered. Someone wanted to make sure she was dead. But who?

Billy Lombardo is the author of three books of fiction. The Man with Two Arms, How to Hold a Woman, The Logic of a Rose: Chicago Stories,and one book of something else, Meanwhile, Roxy Mourns. He is the 2011 Nelson Algren Fiction Award winner and the founder and managing editor of Polyphony Lit,a student-run, international literary magazine for high school writers and editors. He teaches English literature and creative writing at the Latin School of Chicago. 

In Morning Will Come, Alan and Audrey Taylor are raising three children and coping with the demands of busy careers when their eldest child, Isabel, on the verge of precocious womanhood, goes missing in the middle of the night. Thus begins this intimate portrait of a barely functioning family left to decipher the mysteries of how to go on in the aftermath of violence and loss. Morning Will Come, a haunting, sometimes raw exploration of grief, is also by turns humorous and sexy, exploring the bonds of blood and the redemptive power of love.

Peter L. Belmonte is a retired U.S. Air Force officer. He holds a master's degree in history from California State University, Stanislaus, and has written articles, book chapters, and reviews on military and immigration history. Pete is the author of several books, including Italian Americans in World War II (Arcadia, 2001), The U.S. 26th Infantry Regiment in the Meuse-Argonne Offensive, October-November 1918 (Schiffer, 2015), Forgotten Soldiers of World War I: America's Immigrant Doughboys (with Alexander F. Barnes, Schiffer, 2018), and Play Ball! Doughboys and Baseball during the Great War (with Alexander F. Barnes and Sam Barnes, Schiffer, 2019).

In Chicago-Area Italians in World War I, thousands of immigrants from the southern Italian region of Calabria came to the Chicago-area in the late-nineteenth and early-twentieth centuries. As many as 8,000 of them served in the U.S. military during World War I, and until now no effort has been made to document their story. Historian Peter L. Belmonte has been researching these men using military, immigration, naturalization, census, family, and other records for more than twenty years. This book recounts the military history of more than 380 men from the province of Cosenza, Calabria. Their history highlights the role of the U.S. military in World War I; they served in every type of unit, from stateside camps to the trenches of France and even to the frozen wasteland of Siberia. Some of them earned medals for bravery. Many of the men suffered life-changing wounds, and some made the supreme sacrifice. Long without a voice in historical works, their story is finally told here.

Dan Helpingstine is a two-time graduate of Indiana University, having a Bachelor’s Degree in Political Science and another one in Labor studies. He is a freelance writer living in northwest Indiana with his wife, Delia, and daughter, Leah. This is his fourth Arcadia book. He has also written three other books on the Chicago White Sox.

About The 1919 Black Sox Scandal: All kinds of spurious rumors had swirled around the 1919 World Series. Allegations about a fixed game between the Chicago Cubs and Philadelphia Phillies on August 31, 1920, began a chain of events that led to a grand jury indicting eight White Sox players for conspiring to throw the 1919 World Series to the Cincinnati Reds the year before. Outside the courtroom, Shoeless Joe Jackson, just coming off his best overall offensive season with .382 average, was reportedly confronted by a young fan pleading for a denial from his hero. Jackson would later deny the encounter ever occurred and also deny any guilt in the World Series fix. In the almost 100 years since eight White Sox players were banned for life, there has been little historical closure due to a fleeting consensus on a scandal that almost took down Major League Baseball.

Event date: 
Wednesday, March 18, 2020 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
4736-38 N Lincoln Ave
The Book Cellar
CHICAGO, IL 60625
Murder in an Irish Cottage: A Charming Irish Cozy Mystery (An Irish Village Mystery #5) Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781496719058
Availability: Special Order
Published: Kensington - February 25th, 2020

Dead Ringer (A Mattie Winston Mystery #11) Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781496722553
Availability: Special Order
Published: Kensington - February 25th, 2020

Morning Will Come Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781948954075
Availability: Special Order
Published: Tortoise Books - January 21st, 2020

Chicago-Area Italians in World War I: A Case Study of Calabrians Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781634991766
Availability: Special Order
Published: America Through Time - November 25th, 2019

The 1919 Black Sox Scandal Cover Image
$21.99
ISBN: 9781467103763
Availability: Special Order
Published: Arcadia Publishing (SC) - September 23rd, 2019

Events Terms: 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices Subject to Change. Please call (773) 293-2665 to confirm.
Copyright © The Book Cellar.    Web Design by Lars Townsend.