View your shopping cart.

Banner Message

Please note that online availability does not reflect stock in store!

We will be CLOSED all day on Monday, July 4th.

Please check your SPAM folder for communications from us- for some reason our messages are being sent there more than usual :(

French Corner

Village de l'Allemand

Village de l'Allemand

$11.99
More Info

Vol de Nuit

$8.95
More Info

Vous n'Aurez pas ma Haine

$5.27
More Info
Antoine Leiris a perdu sa femme, Helene Muyal-Leiris, le 13 novembre 2015, assassinee au Bataclan. Accable par la perte, il n'a qu'une arme: sa plume. A l'image de la lueur d'espoir et de douceur que fut sa lettre Vous n'aurez pas ma haine, publiee sur Facebook quelques jours apres les attentats, il nous raconte ici comment, malgre tout, la vie doit continuer.
C'est ce quotidien, meurtri mais tendre, entre un pere et son fils, qu'il nous offre.

Bouleversant. L'Obs.

Un texte brut, fort, poetique et poignant. Femme actuelle.

Le recit d'une vie a trois qu'il faut poursuivre a deux. Le Monde.






Voyeur

Voyeur

$14.95
More Info
Mathias, a timorous, ineffectual traveling salesman, returns to the island of his birth after a long absence. Two days later, a thirteen-year-old girl is found drowned and mutilated. With eerie precision, Robbe-Grillet puts us at the scene of the crime and takes us inside Mathias's mind, artfully enlisting us as detective hot on the trail of a homocidal maniac. A triumphant display of the techniques of the "new novel," The Voyeur achieves the impossible feat of keeping us utterly engrossed in the mystery of the child's murder while systematically raising doubts about whether it really occurred.
White Leopard

White Leopard

$16.95
More Info
A man torn between two continents finds himself in a dangerous confrontation between tradition and corruption. Solo is a former cop who ran away from a dark past in France to start his life over again in Bamako, Mali, as a PI. An ordinary case turns out to be not so ordinary. The drug mule gets her throat slit. The French lawyer is too beautiful and too well-informed. The cocaine is too plentiful. This is classic hard-boiled noir with a modern twist set in Africa.
Winemaker Detective Mysteries: An Omnibus

Winemaker Detective Mysteries: An Omnibus

$19.95
More Info
A perfect blend of mystery and gastronomy The first three books in the Winemaker Detective Series serve up a whirlwind of money, deceit, inheritance, greed, and fine wine, ideal for fans of Iron Chef & Murder, She Wrote. In this "addictive" series, master winemaker Benjamin Cooker and his sidekick Virgile solve mysteries in vineyards across French wine country. In Treachery in Bordeaux, barrels at a prestigious wine estate have been contaminated. Is it negligence or sabotage? The two wine connoisseurs investigate in this light-hearted, page-turning read. In Grand Cru Heist, the two amateur detectives meet a motley crew of characters near Tours--a stunning blonde, a zealous concierge, and touchy local police--and must solve two murders along the way. In Nightmare in Burgundy, a dream wine tasting trip turns into a troubling nightmare when Cooker and Virgile stumble upon a mystery revolving around messages from another era. What dark secrets from the deep past are haunting the Clos de Vougeot? Does blood need to be shed to sharpen people's memory? Brimming with description, intrigue, and compelling characters, the Omnibus offers a rare chance to sample the first three books in this "terrific series" for less than a bottle of your favorite wine (William Martin, New York Times Bestselling Author).
Witch in the Broom Cupboard and Other Tales

Witch in the Broom Cupboard and Other Tales

$13.95
More Info
Absurd fairy tales, very sensibly told

There once was a good little devil - did you read that right? Yes you did: not a wicked little devil but a good one, and boy, was he in a fix! Instead of doing bad things like forgetting his homework and playing tricks on his teachers, this little devil kept trying to be good. He did all his homework - and sometimes enjoyed it! He was never rude and he even encouraged sinners to say sorry. His parents were at their wits' end. So the little devil struck out on his own. On his quest to learn to be good, our little devil meets all kinds of people, from priests to police and from the Pope in Rome to Little Jesus himself. But will the angels let a little red devil with black horns into Heaven? In these thirteen tales, clever young people find nifty ways to overcome greedy kings, wicked witches, unlucky spells and even silly names. And there's a big dash of magic to help them on the way!

In these tales, the giants, witches and mermaids of traditional fairy tales leap from the page, animated by a very modern spirit. Blessed with a healthy disrespect for authority, the author took great pleasure in upsetting the natural order of the fantastic.

Woman Loved

Woman Loved

$16.00
More Info

The fascinating story of a young Russian filmmaker's attempts to portray Catherine the Great, before and after the collapse of the Soviet Union

Catherine the Great's life seems to have been made for the cinema--her rise to power; her reportedly countless love affairs and wild sexual escapades; the episodes of betrayal, revenge, and even murder--there's no shortage of historical drama. But Oleg Erdmann, a young Russian filmmaker, seeks to discover and portray Catherine's essential, emotional truth, her real life beyond the rumors and façade. His first screenplay just barely makes it past the Soviet film board and is assigned to a talented director, but the resulting film fails to avoid the usual clichés. After the dissolution of the Soviet Union, as he struggles to find a place for himself in the new order, Oleg agrees to work with an old friend on a television series that becomes a quick success--as well as increasingly lurid, a far cry from his original vision. He continues to seek the real Catherine elsewhere.
With A Woman Loved, Andreï Makine delivers a sweeping novel about the uses of art, the absurdity of history, and the overriding power of human love, if only it can be uncovered and allowed to flourish.

Wound

Wound

$19.95
More Info
"Where is your wound?" asks Jean Genet in the lines Laurent Mauvignier uses as an epigraph to The Wound. By the time we have finished this four-part novel, we realize that for many the wound lies four decades back in "the Events" that people have tried to not talk about ever since: the Algerian War. Chronicling the lives of two cousins-Bernard and Rabut-both in the present and at the time of the Algerian War of Independence in the 1960s, we get a full picture of the lasting effects this event had on the men who were involved. Through the fragments of their stories we see the whole history of the war: its atrocities, its horrors, and its hatreds. Mauvignier shows readers how the Algerian War, always present yet always repressed, has sickened the emotional and moral life of everyone it touched-and France itself, perhaps. The epigraph, like the novel, suggests that wounded men may even become the wound itself. Laurent Mauvignier is the author of several novels in French and is the winner of four literary prizes, including the Prix Wepler. David and Nicole Ball, both independent translators in Northampton, Massachusetts, have published several translations separately as well as together, including Abdourahman A. Waberi's In the United States of Africa (Nebraska, 2009). Nick Flynn is a writer of poetry, fiction, and memoir. His most recent books include The Reenactments: A Memoir and The Ticking Is the Bomb.
Writers

Writers

$14.95
More Info

Here we have the anatomy of the contemporary writer, as imagined by the pseudonymous, "post-exotic" Antoine Volodine. His writers aren't the familiar, bitter, alcoholic kind, however; nor are they great, romantic, tortured geniuses; and least of all are they media darlings and socialites. No, in Volodine's universe, the writer is pitted in a pathetic struggle against silence and sickness--that is, when she's not about to be murdered by random lunatics or fellow inmates. Consisting of seven loosely interlocking stories, "Writers" is a window onto a chaotic reality where expressing oneself brings along with it repercussions both absurd and frighteningly familiar.

Zeus a la Conquete de l'Olympe

$8.84
More Info

Zooptique. Imagine Ce Que Les Animaux Voient

$17.99
More Info