You are here

Dove Arising (The Dove Chronicles #1) (Paperback)

Dove Arising (The Dove Chronicles #1) Cover Image
Email or call for price.
Hard to Find

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the The Dove Chronicles series.

Description


Fans of Ender's Game and The Maze Runner will love this smart sci-fi debut and its sequel, Dove Exiled!

Phaet Theta’s Plan: Live peacefully in the lunar colony, work hard, become a scientist, and enjoy a quiet future off the government’s radar. Then her mother is arrested.
 
The New Plan: Enlist in the militia, learn everything she can from top trainee Wes, and become the youngest Militia Captain in history so she can save her family. It all seems perfect. Until Phaet’s logically ordered world begins to crumble…

* With all-new Q&A and Playlist from Karen Bao! *
 

“Fans of The 5th Wave, Divergent, and Legend will love this smart, futuristic thriller.”—Justine

“Bao writes a brilliant new YA heroine in a world of true science fiction.”—Bustle.com

“Fans of Orson Scott Card’s Ender’s Game…should flock to this well-written debut.”—SLJ

About the Author


Karen Bao (karenbao.com) is a writer, musician, and aspiring scientist. She has a brother three years younger than her and a violin sixty years older than her. Born in California and raised in New Jersey, she currently studies environmental biology at college in New York City. Karen began writing Dove Arising at the age of seventeen.

Follow her on Twitter @KarenJBao.

Praise For…


“Karen Bao is an incredibly talented young writer. Beautiful prose and one of the most interesting main characters I've read. Dove Arising marks the debut of a promising new talent. I loved the story, and I can't wait to read more!” —Christopher Paolini, New York Times bestselling author of Eragon

“Newcomer Bao’s off-world setting and world-building details are intriguing.”—Publishers Weekly
 
"Characters are well developed, especially strong-willed Phaet, and an even pace will keep teens turning pages. Fans of Orson Scott Card’s Ender’s Game, Veronica Roth’s Divergent and Marie Lu’s Legend should flock to this well-written debut effort by 19-year-old Bao." —School Library Journal

"Until just recently, the number of formidable young adult authors who got published before they were out of their teens was extremely small: Christopher Paolini and Isamu Fukui. Well, it is time to make room for a third name in this elite list: Karen Bao." VOYA

“The 20-year-old Bao writes a brilliant new YA heroine in a world of true science fiction.” —Bustle.com
 
“Phaet is a compelling, ‘do what needs doing’ kind of girl, and her desperation to succeed and secure her family’s future is palpable…Revelations at the end pave the way for a sequel.”—Booklist.com
 
“Fans of The 5th Wave, Divergent, and Legend will love this smart, futuristic thriller.” —Justine
Product Details
ISBN: 9780147512437
ISBN-10: 0147512433
Publisher: Speak
Publication Date: January 5th, 2016
Pages: 352
Language: English
Series: The Dove Chronicles
All titles are subject to availability. Prices Subject to Change. Please call (773) 293-2665 to confirm.
Copyright © The Book Cellar.    Web Design by Lars Townsend.