View your shopping cart.

Banner Message

Please note that online availability does not reflect stock in store!

Please contact us via email or phone for immediate stock information.

Bad City

Bad City
$18.00

"Pringle's fast-paced book is a master class in investigative journalism... when institutions collude to protect one another, reporting may be our last best hope for accountability."
--The New York Times

For fans of Spotlight and Catch and Kill comes a nonfiction thriller about corruption and betrayal radiating across Los Angeles from one of the region's most powerful institutions, a riveting tale from a Pulitzer-prize winning journalist who investigated the shocking events and helped bring justice in the face of formidable odds.

On a cool, overcast afternoon in April 2016, a salacious tip arrived at the L.A. Times that reporter Paul Pringle thought should have taken, at most, a few weeks to check out: a drug overdose at a fancy hotel involving one of the University of Southern California's shiniest stars--Dr. Carmen Puliafito, the head of the prestigious medical school. Pringle, who'd long done battle with USC and its almost impenetrable culture of silence, knew reporting the story wouldn't be a walk in the park. USC is one of the biggest employers in L.A., and it casts a long shadow.

But what he couldn't have foreseen was that this tip would lead to the unveiling of not one major scandal at USC but two, wrapped in a web of crimes and cover-ups. The rot rooted out by Pringle and his colleagues at The Times would creep closer to home than they could have imagined--spilling into their own newsroom.

Packed with details never before disclosed, Pringle goes behind the scenes to reveal how he and his fellow reporters triumphed over the city's debased institutions, in a narrative that reads like L.A. noir. This is L.A. at its darkest and investigative journalism at its brightest.

ISBN: 
9781250824103
Author: 
Binding: 
Paperback
Publisher: 
Publication Date: 
October 3, 2023
0
No votes yet

Paperback Fiction

Children of Blood and Bone
By: Adeyemi, Tomi
Lone Women
By: Lavalle, Victor
Spell of Good Things
By: Adebayo, Ayobami
American Mermaid
By: Langbein, Julia
VenCo
By: Dimaline, Cherie
Cold People
By: Smith, Tom Rob
House of Eve
By: Johnson, Sadeqa
She and Her Cat
By: Nagakawa, Naruki
Fathomfolk
By: Chan, Eliza

Hardcover Non-Fiction

Madness
By: Hylton, Antonia
Secret Life of Hidden Places
By: Tucholke, April Genevieve
Alphabetical Diaries
By: Heti, Sheila
What Weve Become
By: Metzl, Jonathan M
Transient and Strange
By: Greenfieldboyce, Nell
How to Live Free in a Dangerous World
By: Lawson, Shayla
I Survived Capitalism and All I Got Was This Lousy T-Shirt
By: Pendleton, Madeline
Birding to Change the World
By: O'Kane, Trish
Survivors of the Clotilda
By: Durkin, Hannah

Hardcover Fiction

Fourteen Days
Author: Preston, Douglas
Education in Malice
Author: Gibson, S T
Waters
Author: Campbell, Bonnie Jo
Kamogawa Food Detectives
Author: Kashiwai, Hisashi
King Nyx
Author: Bakis, Kirsten
Martyr
Author: Akbar, Kaveh
Wandering Stars
Author: Orange, Tommy
Other Valley
Author: Howard, Scott Alexander
Fate Inked in Blood: Book One of the Saga of the Unfated
Author: Jensen, Danielle L