View your shopping cart.
Available for Special Order

Banner Message

Please note that online availability does not reflect stock in store!

Please contact us via email or phone for immediate stock information.

Arnie and Jack: Palmer, Niklaus, and Golf's Greatest Rivalry

Arnie and Jack: Palmer, Niklaus, and Golf's Greatest Rivalry
$14.95
A Sports Illustrated Top Ten Book of the Year and New York Times bestseller from ESPN.com's Ian O'Connor, Arnie & Jack: Palmer, Nicklaus, and Golf's Greatest Rivalry is a revelatory look at the relationship between two legendary champions.

Surprisingly, one of sport's most contentious, complex, and defining clashes played out not in the boxing ring or at the line of scrimmage but on the genteel green fairways of the world's finest golf courses. Arnie and Jack. Palmer and Nicklaus. Their fifty-year duel, in both the clubhouse and the boardroom, propelled each to the status of American icon and pushed modern golf into mainstream popularity.

Arnie was the cowboy, with rugged good looks, Popeye-like forearms, a flailing swing, and charm enough to win fans worldwide. Jack was scientific, precise, conservative, aloof, even fat and awkward. Ultimately, Nicklaus got the better of Palmer on the course, beating him in major victories 18-7. But Palmer bested Nicklaus almost everywhere else, especially in the hearts of the public and in endorsement dollars. By the end of this page-turning narrative, we see that each man wanted what the other had: Arnold wanted the trophies. Jack wanted the love.

In the tradition of John Feinstein and Mark Frost, Ian O'Connor has written a compelling account of one of the greatest rivalries in sports history.





ISBN: 
9780547237862
Author: 
Binding: 
Paperback
Publisher: 
Publication Date: 
April 1, 2009
0
No votes yet

Paperback Fiction

House That Horror Built
By: Henry, Christina
Kairos
By: Erpenbeck, Jenny
Honey Witch
By: Shields, Sydney J
You May Now Kill the Bride
By: Weston, Kate
Long After We Are Gone
By: Shelton Harris, Terah
Serpent & the Wings of Night
By: Broadbent, Carissa
How to Kill a Guy in Ten Ways
By: Kellman, Eve
Death Valley
By: Broder, Melissa
Tiananmen Square
By: Wen, Lai

Hardcover Non-Fiction

Somehow
By: Lamott, Anne
Demon of Unrest
By: Larson, Erik
Swans of Harlem
By: Valby, Karen
Race to the Future
By: St Clair, Kassia
Infernal Machine
By: Johnson, Steven
Amphibious Soul
By: Foster, Craig
Rebel Girl
By: Hanna, Kathleen
When You See My Mother Ask Her to Dance
By: Baez, Joan
Coming Home
By: Burford, Michelle

Hardcover Fiction

Funny Story
Author: Henry, Emily
All Fours
Author: July, Miranda
Blue Ruin
Author: Kunzru, Hari
Body Farm
Author: Geni, Abby
This Strange Eventful History
Author: Messud, Claire
When Among Crows
Author: Roth, Veronica
Red Grove
Author: Fontaine, Tessa
Ministry of Time
Author: Bradley, Kaliane
Long Island
Author: Toibin, Colm