View your shopping cart.
Available for Special Order

Banner Message

Please note that online availability does not reflect stock in store!

Please check your SPAM folder for communications from us- for some reason our messages are being sent there more than usual :(

Thank you for your patience and grace during the busy holiday season!

Are You There Alone?

Are You There Alone?
$25.00
In the tradition of "In Cold Blood, The Executioner's Song," and "A Civil Action," Suzanne O'Malley exposes the human mystery of the most horrifying crime in recent history and the legal dramasurrounding it.

As a journalist, Suzanne O'Malley began covering the murders of Noah, John, Paul, Luke, and Mary Yates hours after their mother, AndreaYates, drowned them in their suburban Houston home in June 2001. Over twenty-four months, O'Malley interviewed or witnessed the sworn testimony of more than a hundred participants in this drama, including Yates herself; her husband, Rusty Yates; their families; attorneys; the personnel of the Harris County district attorney's and sheriff's offices; medical staff; friends; acquaintances; and expert witnesses.

O'Malley argues persuasively that under less extraordinary circumstances, a mentally ill woman would have been quietly offered a plea bargain and sent to an institution under court supervision. But on March 12, 2002, Andrea Yates was found guilty of the murders of three of her five children. She is currently serving a life sentence and will not be eligible for parole until 2041.

O'Malley's exclusive personal communications with Andrea Yates and her interviews with Rusty Yates allow her to offer fully realized portrayals of people at the center of this horrifying case.

In ""Are You There Alone?"" O'Malley makes a critical contribution to our understanding of mental health issues within the criminal justice system.

ISBN: 
0743244850 (9780743244855)
Author: 
Binding: 
Hardcover
Publisher: 
Publication Date: 
February 1, 2004
0

Paperback Fiction

When Franny Stands Up
By: Robins, Eden
Brown Girls
By: Andreades, Daphne Palasi
Ballerinas
By: Kapelke-Dale, Rachel
Last Life
By: Messud, Claire
Wish for Winter
By: Shipman, Viola
Best American Short Stories 2022
By: Greer, Andrew Sean
Anywhere You Run
By: Morris, Wanda M
Greenwich Park
By: Faulkner, Katherine
Seven Moons of Maali Almeida
By: Karunatilaka, Shehan

Hardcover Non-Fiction

Chuck Berry
By: Smith, Rj
Book of Days
By: Smith, Patti
Polar Exposure
By: Aston, Felicity
Surrender
By: Bono
Listen To Your Vegetables
By: Heddings, Kate
Hollywood The Oral History
By: Wasson, Sam
Dickens and Prince
By: Hornby, Nick
Philosophy of Modern Song
By: Dylan, Bob
Great Air Race
By: Lancaster, John

Hardcover Fiction

Winterland
Author: Meadows, Rae
World of Curiosities
Author: Penny, Louise
Someday Maybe
Author: Nwabineli, Onyi
Before Your Memory Fades
Author: Kawaguchi, Toshikazu
Twist of a Knife
Author: Horowitz, Anthony
All the Broken Places
Author: Boyne, John
Boy and the Dog
Author: Hase, Seishu
Five Survive
Author: Jackson, Holly
Alone with You in the Ether: A Love Story
Author: Blake, Olivie