View your shopping cart.
Available for Special Order

Banner Message

Please note that online availability does not reflect stock in store!

Please check your SPAM folder for communications from us- for some reason our messages are being sent there more than usual :(

Americanized Rebel Without a Green Card

Americanized Rebel Without a Green Card
$9.99
In development as a television series from Reese Witherspoon's Hello Sunshine production company and ABC Studios!

This hilarious, poignant and true story of one teen's experience growing up in America as an undocumented immigrant from the Middle East is an increasingly necessary read in today's divisive world. Perfect for fans of Mindy Kaling and Trevor Noah's books.


"Very funny but never flippant, Saedi mixes '90s pop culture references, adolescent angst and Iranian history into an intimate, informative narrative." --The New York Times

At thirteen, bright-eyed, straight-A student Sara Saedi uncovered a terrible family secret: she was breaking the law simply by living in the United States. Only two years old when her parents fled Iran, she didn't learn of her undocumented status until her older sister wanted to apply for an after-school job, but couldn't because she didn't have a Social Security number.

Fear of deportation kept Sara up at night, but it didn't keep her from being a teenager. She desperately wanted a green card, along with clear skin, her own car, and a boyfriend.

Americanized follows Sara's progress toward getting her green card, but that's only a portion of her experiences as an Iranian-American teenager. From discovering that her parents secretly divorced to facilitate her mother's green card application to learning how to tame her unibrow, Sara pivots gracefully from the terrifying prospect that she might be kicked out of the country at any time to the almost-as-terrifying possibility that she might be the only one of her friends without a date to the prom. This moving, often hilarious story is for anyone who has ever shared either fear.

FEATURED ON NPR'S FRESH AIR
A NYPL BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR
A CHICAGO PUBLIC LIBRARY BEST OF THE BEST BOOK SELECTION
A SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR
FOUR STARRED REVIEWS!

"A must-read, vitally important memoir. . . . Poignant and often LOL funny, Americanized is utterly of the moment."--Bustle

"Read Saedi's memoir to push out the poison."--Teen Vogue

"A funny, poignant must read for the times we are living in today."--Pop Sugar

ISBN: 
9781524717827
Author: 
Binding: 
Paperback
Publisher: 
Publication Date: 
March 26, 2019
0

Paperback Fiction

Lincoln in the Bardo
By: Saunders, George
Shit Cassandra Saw
By: Kirby, Gwen E
Childrens Blizzard
By: Benjamin, Melanie
Whats Mine and Yours
By: Coster, Naima
Ex-Husband
By: Hamilton, Karen
Raft of Stars
By: Graff, Andrew J
Better Luck Next Time
By: Johnson, Julia Claiborne
Cheat Day
By: Stratman, LIV
Gilded Ones
By: Forna, Namina

Hardcover Non-Fiction

Call Us What We Carry / The Hill We Climb and Other Poems
By: Gorman, Amanda
Lost & Found
By: Schulz, Kathryn
Little Closer to Home
By: Zee, Ginger
I Came All This Way to Meet You
By: Attenberg, Jami
South to America
By: Perry, Imani
Betrayal of Anne Frank
By: Sullivan, Rosemary
Manifesto
By: Evaristo, Bernardine

Hardcover Fiction

Greek Myths
Author: Higgins, Charlotte
To Paradise
Author: Yanagihara, Hanya
Violeta [English Edition]
Author: Allende, Isabel
Joan Is Okay
Author: Wang, Weike
Yinka Where Is Your Huzband
Author: Damilola Blackburn, Lizzie
Strangers I Know
Author: Durastanti, Claudia
Hummingbird
Author: Veronesi, Sandro
How High We Go in the Dark
Author: Nagamatsu, Sequoia
Olga Dies Dreaming
Author: Gonzalez, Xochitl
Devil House
Author: Darnielle, John