View your shopping cart.

Banner Message

Please note that online availability does not reflect stock in store!

Please check your SPAM folder for communications from us- for some reason our messages are being sent there more than usual :(

Almost American Girl

Almost American Girl
$12.99

Harvey Award Nominee, Best Children or Young Adult Book

A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life--perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo.

For as long as she can remember, it's been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn't always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together.

So when a vacation to visit friends in Huntsville, Alabama, unexpectedly becomes a permanent relocation--following her mother's announcement that she's getting married--Robin is devastated.

Overnight, her life changes. She is dropped into a new school where she doesn't understand the language and struggles to keep up. She is completely cut off from her friends in Seoul and has no access to her beloved comics. At home, she doesn't fit in with her new stepfamily, and worst of all, she is furious with the one person she is closest to--her mother.

Then one day Robin's mother enrolls her in a local comic drawing class, which opens the window to a future Robin could never have imagined.

This nonfiction graphic novel with four starred reviews is an excellent choice for teens and also accelerated tween readers, both for independent reading and units on immigration, memoirs, and the search for identity.

ISBN: 
9780062685094
Author: 
Binding: 
Paperback
Publisher: 
Publication Date: 
January 28, 2020
0

Paperback Fiction

Lincoln in the Bardo
By: Saunders, George
Shit Cassandra Saw
By: Kirby, Gwen E
Childrens Blizzard
By: Benjamin, Melanie
Whats Mine and Yours
By: Coster, Naima
Ex-Husband
By: Hamilton, Karen
Raft of Stars
By: Graff, Andrew J
Better Luck Next Time
By: Johnson, Julia Claiborne
Cheat Day
By: Stratman, LIV
Gilded Ones
By: Forna, Namina

Hardcover Non-Fiction

Call Us What We Carry / The Hill We Climb and Other Poems
By: Gorman, Amanda
Lost & Found
By: Schulz, Kathryn
Little Closer to Home
By: Zee, Ginger
I Came All This Way to Meet You
By: Attenberg, Jami
South to America
By: Perry, Imani
Betrayal of Anne Frank
By: Sullivan, Rosemary
Manifesto
By: Evaristo, Bernardine

Hardcover Fiction

Greek Myths
Author: Higgins, Charlotte
To Paradise
Author: Yanagihara, Hanya
Violeta [English Edition]
Author: Allende, Isabel
Joan Is Okay
Author: Wang, Weike
Yinka Where Is Your Huzband
Author: Damilola Blackburn, Lizzie
Strangers I Know
Author: Durastanti, Claudia
Hummingbird
Author: Veronesi, Sandro
How High We Go in the Dark
Author: Nagamatsu, Sequoia
Olga Dies Dreaming
Author: Gonzalez, Xochitl
Devil House
Author: Darnielle, John