View your shopping cart.
Available for Special Order

Banner Message

Please note that online availability does not reflect stock in store!

Please contact us via email or phone for immediate stock information.

Accidental Lessons

Accidental Lessons
$23.95
Chicago Journalist Writes an Extraordinary and Personal Memoir David W. Berner takes the reader inside his own personal journey - a very human and inspirational story of self-discovery. After the death of his father, the end of a marriage, and the loss of his job, the author accepts a teaching position in an impoverished and troubled Chicago-area school, hoping the change will help him find his footing. What he discovers not only surprises him but also reawakens his life, teaching him invaluable lessons about himself, his place in the world, and the redemptive power of second chances. David W. Berner is a journalist, documentary writer, and producer. He teaches writing, documentary, and radio narrative classes at Columbia College Chicago. He has published personal essays, hundreds of magazine articles, and interviewed the likes of Ted Kennedy, Tiger Woods, and Bill Gates. David lives in Naperville, Illinois and is currently working on a collection of stories about fatherhood. Accidental Lessons is his first book. www.davidwberner.com PRAISE FOR ACCIDENTAL LESSONS "Berner has given us a beautiful, elegantly-written book in the tradition of Blackboard Jungle and To Sir, With Love - the difference here is that Berner's story is not fiction, it's true." - Thomas E. Kennedy, Winner of the 2008 National Magazine Award and author of In the Company of Angels "Accidental Lessons will toss you like a cork at sea, throw you heavy against its steel straps, and when it's done you'll never be quite the same. This is the kind of book you tell your friends about." - Eric Jones, BookReview.com "A terrific memoir." - Rick Kogan, The Sunday Papers, WGN Radio, Chicago "A book of raw honesty." - Larry Richert, KDKA Radio, Pittsburgh Publisher's Website: www.strategicbookpublishing.com/AccidentalLessons.html
ISBN: 
9781609764111
Author: 
Binding: 
Hardcover
Publication Date: 
July 27, 2010
0
No votes yet

Paperback Fiction

Children of Blood and Bone
By: Adeyemi, Tomi
Lone Women
By: Lavalle, Victor
Spell of Good Things
By: Adebayo, Ayobami
American Mermaid
By: Langbein, Julia
VenCo
By: Dimaline, Cherie
Cold People
By: Smith, Tom Rob
House of Eve
By: Johnson, Sadeqa
She and Her Cat
By: Nagakawa, Naruki
Fathomfolk
By: Chan, Eliza

Hardcover Non-Fiction

Madness
By: Hylton, Antonia
Secret Life of Hidden Places
By: Tucholke, April Genevieve
Alphabetical Diaries
By: Heti, Sheila
What Weve Become
By: Metzl, Jonathan M
Transient and Strange
By: Greenfieldboyce, Nell
How to Live Free in a Dangerous World
By: Lawson, Shayla
I Survived Capitalism and All I Got Was This Lousy T-Shirt
By: Pendleton, Madeline
Birding to Change the World
By: O'Kane, Trish
Survivors of the Clotilda
By: Durkin, Hannah

Hardcover Fiction

Fourteen Days
Author: Preston, Douglas
Education in Malice
Author: Gibson, S T
Waters
Author: Campbell, Bonnie Jo
Kamogawa Food Detectives
Author: Kashiwai, Hisashi
King Nyx
Author: Bakis, Kirsten
Martyr
Author: Akbar, Kaveh
Wandering Stars
Author: Orange, Tommy
Other Valley
Author: Howard, Scott Alexander
Fate Inked in Blood: Book One of the Saga of the Unfated
Author: Jensen, Danielle L