You are here

Elizabeth Berg, "The Story of Arthur Truluv"

The Book Cellar is excited to welcome New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Berg to discuss her new novel, The Story of Arthur Truluv.

 

                                               

 

About the Author: 

Elizabeth Berg is the author of many bestselling novels, including Open House, an Oprah’s Book Club selection, Talk Before Sleep, and The Year of Pleasures, as well as the short story collection The Day I Ate Whatever I WantedDurable Goods and Joy School were selected as ALA Best Books of the Year. She adapted The Pull of the Moon into a play which enjoyed sold-out performances in Chicago and Indianapolis. With over 4 million copies of her books in print, Berg is a profilic author whose work has been translated into twenty-seven languages. Three of her novels were turned into television movies. She is the founder of Writing Matters, a four-times-a-year quality reading series dedicated to serving author, audience, and community. She teaches one-day writing workshops, and is a popular speaker at venues around the country. Recently, some of her most popular Facebook postings were collected in Make Someone Happy. She lives outside Chicago.

About The Story of Arthur Truluv:

For the past six months, Arthur Moses's days have looked the same: He tends to his rose garden and to Gordon, his cat, then rides the bus to the cemetery to visit his beloved late wife for lunch. The last thing Arthur would imagine is for one unlikely encounter to utterly transform his life.
Eighteen-year-old Maddy Harris is an introspective girl who visits the cemetery to escape the other kids at school. One afternoon she joins Arthur--a gesture that begins a surprising friendship between two lonely souls. Moved by Arthur's kindness and devotion, Maddy gives him the nickname "Truluv." As Arthur's neighbor Lucille moves into their orbit, the unlikely trio band together and, through heartache and hardships, help one another rediscover their own potential to start anew.
Reminiscent of A Man Called Ove and full of profound observations about life, The Story of Arthur Truluv is a beautiful and moving novel of compassion in the face of loss, of the small acts that turn friends into family, of the possibilities to achieve happiness at any age, and of three people who each lose the one they love most and find second chances in the unlikeliest of places.

 

“Fans of Meg Wolitzer, Emma Straub, or [Elizabeth] Berg’s previous novels will appreciate the richly complex characters and clear prose. Redemptive without being maudlin, this story of two misfits lucky to have found one another will tug at readers’ heartstrings.”
—Booklist
 
"I don't know if I've ever read a more affecting book about the natural affinity between the young and the elderly than Elizabeth Berg's The Story of Arthur Truluv. It makes the rest of us—strivers and preeners and malcontents—seem almost irrelevant."
–Richard Russo, author of Everybody’s Fool
 
"Elizabeth Berg's characters jump right off the page and into your heart. I dare you to read The Story of Arthur Truluv and not fall in love with Arthur Truluv. His story will make you laugh and cry, and show you a love that never ends, and what it means to be truly human."
–Fannie Flagg, author of The Whole Town’s Talking
 
"Berg reminds us of both the richness of any human life and the heart's needed resilience."
–Jane Hirshfield, author of The Beauty: Poems

Event date: 
Thursday, December 7, 2017 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
The Book Cellar
4736-38 N. Lincoln Ave.
Chicago, IL 60625
The Story of Arthur Truluv Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781400069903
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House - November 21st, 2017

Events Terms: 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices Subject to Change. Please call (773) 293-2665 to confirm.
Copyright © The Book Cellar.    Web Design by Lars Townsend.